Sydney

215 Charlotte Street Sydney NS B1P 6K3

Get Directions

Hours of Operation:

Monday to Friday 8:00am – 5:00pm Saturdays (except long weekends) 9:00am – 1:00pm Summer Hours (July-Sept) Monday to Friday 8:00am – 5:00pm

Our Team

Leadership Team

Stuart MacLeod

President and CEO

Stuart MacLeod Jr. has been in the insurance industry since 1966. Stuart is a native of Sydney and resides in Northside East Bay with his wife, Nonie. They have four children.

stuart@macleodlorway.com

Scott Huntington, BBA, FCIP

Vice President, Commercial

Scott Huntington has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1989 and has five years prior experience in the insurance industry. Scott is a native of Sydney and resides in Sydney River with his wife Michelle and their two girls.

scott@macleodlorway.com

John Pino, MBA, FCIP, CAIB, CRM

VP Eastern Operations and Industry Relations

John Pino has worked with the MacLeod Lorway Group since 1994. John is a native of Coxheath. He now resides in Sydney with his wife Cora Lee and their 2 daughters.

john@macleodlorway.com

Jennifer MacLeod, BA, CAIB

VP Western Operations and Marketing

Jennifer MacLeod joined the MacLeod Lorway Group in 2006. A native of Sydney, she works in Bedford where she lives with her husband Larry and their son, Davis and their daughter, Lauren.

jen@macleodlorway.com

Dereck Melbourne

Director, IT

Dereck brings 19 years of experience in IT to the MacLeod Lorway team. A native of Newfoundland, Dereck now lives in Coxheath with his wife and two children.

dereck@macleodlorway.com

Michelle Carey

Personal Lines Manager

Michelle has been a personal insurance specialist since 1980. She is a graduate of Memorial High School and a native of Point Aconi where she now resides with her husband Joe and their three daughters.

michelle@macleodlorway.com

Business Team

Brad Balmas, BA, BBA, FCIP

Senior Account Executive

Brad Balmas has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1991. Brad is a native of Sydney where he resides with his wife Melanie and their three boys.

brad@macleodlorway.com

Patricia Calder

Senior Account Executive

Patricia Calder has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1980. Patricia is a native of Sydney and resides on Meadows Road with her husband Carl and their two boys.

patricia@macleodlorway.com

Joyce Small, CAIB

Personal Lines Sales Broker

Joyce Small, native of Sydney River who currently resides in Sydney, has been with the MacLeod Lorway team since 2000. Currently in the Sydney office, she has also worked in our Dartmouth and Port Hawkesbury offices.

joyce@macleodlorway.com

Rose Baker

Senior Account Executive

Rose joined the Macleod Lorway team in January of 2019. She is a graduate of the Lawrence Kinlin School of Business where she studied Business-Insurance.  Rose comes from Ontario where she’s spent the last 7 years working in the insurance industry. 

rose@macleodlorway.com

Personal Lines Sales Team

Laurie MacKinnon

Personal Lines Sales Broker

Laurie joined the MacLeod Lorway team in 2011 and has been in the insurance industry since 2002. She is a native of Sydney and now resides in Gardiner Mines with her husband Scott and their two daughters.

laurie@macleodlorway.com

Melissa Thompson, CIP

Personal Lines Sales Broker

Melissa joined MacLeod Lorway Insurance in 2003. She is a native of Balls Creek and now resides in Sydney.

melissa@macleodlorway.com

Leona Kelly

Personal Lines Sales Broker

Leona joined the MacLeod Lorway team in 2017 with 18 years experience in the insurance industry. She is a native of New Waterford where she currently resides with her two children.

leona@macleodlorway.com

Erin Turner

Personal Lines Sales Broker

Erin joined the Macleod Lorway team in 2017 and has been in the insurance industry since 2008. Erin is a native of New Waterford and currently resides in River Ryan with her husband Eddie and their daughter Elise.

erine@macleodlorway.com

Personal Lines Service Team

Lisa Bonaparte

Personal Lines Broker

Lisa Bonaparte has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1998 and worked at Druker Insurance for 17 years. Lisa is a native of Sydney and resides in Howie Centre.

lisa@macleodlorway.com

Karen Dearing, CIP

Personal Lines Broker

Karen has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1998 after working four years with another brokerage. Karen is a native of Sydney where she resides with her husband Mark and their three children.

karen@macleodlorway.com

Leslee MacDonald

Personal Lines Broker

Leslee MacDonald (nee MacLeod) has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1994. Leslee is a native of Sydney and resides in Blackett's Lake with her husband Craig and their three children.

leslee@macleodlorway.com

Kayla MacLeod

Personal Lines Broker

Kayla is from Sydney and is a graduate of the Cape Breton Business College. She joined MacLeod Lorway in 2011.

kayla@macleodlorway.com

Elise Penney

Learning and Development Coordinator

Elise began her employment with MacLeod Lorway Insurance in 1994. Elise is a native of Long Island and is living there with her husband Terry and their two children.

elise@macleodlorway.com

Alison Stone

Personal Lines Broker

Alison Stone has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1992. Alison is a native of Sydney where she resides with her husband Chris and their two children

alison@macleodlorway.com

Faye Nightingale

Personal Lines Broker

Faye, a resident of Glace Bay, will be with the MacLeod Lorway team for a year.

fayen@macleodlorway.com

Gillian Aulenback

Personal Lines Broker

Gillian joined the MacLeod Lorway team in October 2016 as an honours graduate of NSCC. She resides in Sydney with her two children Ava and Baron.

gillian@macleodlorway.com

Finance and Administration

Brenna MacDonald

Office Administrator

Brenna joined the MacLeod Lorway team in 2012 as an honours graduate of NSCC. Originally from Barrachois, Brenna now resides in Florence.

brenna@macleodlorway.com

Ashley Inder

Office Administrator

shley joined the MacLeod Lorway team in 2017 as a recent graduate of St. F.X. Ashley lives in North Sydney.

ashley@macleodlorway.com

Life and Investments Team

Jamie Clarke, CFP, B.Ed.

Certified Financial Planner

Jamie has worked with the MacLeod Lorway Group, Life Insurance and Investment Division since 2002. Jamie resides in Sydney Mines with his wife Jacqui and their three daughters.

jamie@macleodlorway.com

Lisa DellaValle

Life Division Sales and Administration

Lisa has worked with the MacLeod Lorway Group since 1998. Lisa is a native of Sydney where she resides with her husband Jamie and their son Dawson.

lisad@macleodlorway.com

Client Service Team

Jennifer Cameron

MacPlan Manager

Jennifer Cameron has worked at MacLeod Lorway Insurance since 1994. She is a native of Glace Bay where she still resides.

jennifer@macleodlorway.com

Michaela Campbell

Receptionist

MIchaela joined the MacLeod Lorway team in 2018.  Michaela is a native of Glace Bay where she resides with her daughter.  

michaela@macleodlorway.com

Erin Cochrane

Receptionist

Erin, a graduate of NSCC, joined the MacLeod Lorway team in 2018. Erin lives in Glace Bay with her boyfriend, Eric.  

erinc@macleodlorway.com

Our History

Young and Lorway were in the insurance business since the beginning of the last century. In the 1920’s, the partners split and one became J.A. Young and Son and the other became C.R. Lorway and Son, who contracted business at 215 Charlotte Street in 1976, Stuart MacLeod Limited and C.R. Lorway and Son Limited merged to become MacLeod Lorway Insurance. Jim Lorway, a partner in the merger, was the grandson of C.R. Lorway. Stuart MacLeod moved his operation from Dorchester Street to the Lorway building. At that time there were four MacLeod employees and three Lorway employees. Today there are 31 employees in this building. In 1986 MacLeod Lorway purchased J.A. Young and Son from Joan Harris, the granddaughter of John A Young, thus completing a circle between the Young’s and the Lorway’s. In addition nine further acquisitions were made by the Sydney office between 1977 and 1998 including: O.R. Goodyear, Keltic Agencies, MacLellan Agencies, Ken Cosman Insurance, Bill Pickles Insurance, Louisbourg Agencies, Allstate’s Cape Breton portfolio and Druker Insurance. D. Stuart MacLeod purchased the Travelers agency in 1956 and was succeeded by his son, Stuart MacLeod Jr. in 1966. The MacLeod and Lorway families have been in insurance in Sydney for a total of 115 years.